Helen O’Reilly promoted

Congratulations to Helen O’Reilly who has been promoted to IPAS with immediate effect. This comes on the back of Helen’s great performance in the Womens Rugby World Cup 2014 and her continuous hard work and dedication to her refereeing.



Helen joins the other Leinster representatives – Tim Towend, Aidan Fogarty and Colm Dawson on IPAS. We wish them all well as the season continues.

Posted in News | Leave a comment

Autumn International Match Appointments

Congratulations to Dudley Philips who will touch judge England v New Zealand on November 8th (N Owens Ref) and Wales v Fiji on November 15th (P Gauzerre Ref).

Well done also to our MAR colleagues John Lacey and George Clancy on their appointments and our USRFR colleagues Simon McDowell and Marshall Kilgore on their TMO appointments.

The full appointment list can be found on the IRB website.

Posted in News | Leave a comment

Leinster Match Program – Article 2

This article appeared in the Cardiff Match Program – thanks to Helen for her time and input into it.

This week we speak to Helen O’Reilly about her Womens Rugby World Cup 2014 experience.

Settling back into “normal life” after the World Cup is something that comes as a little bit of a shock to not only the players and management of International Teams but also to referees.  Having taken up refereeing in 2010 after retiring from a 12 year playing career, Helen O’ Reilly immediately fell in love with being in the middle of the pitch.  It wasn’t long before it was clear to not only Helen, the Leinster Rugby Referees and the IRFU that it was a realistic goal to referee at the top level.  Within 18 months of refereeing, Helen, took to the field in her home club of Ashbourne RFC, to referee her first International match – Ireland v Spain.  A further 18 months later, with 9 caps under her belt, Helen travelled to Marcoussis, Paris in July of this year to referee in the Women’s Rugby World Cup.

France v Canada - Women's Rugby World Cup semi-final

Similar to the players who travelled to Paris, Helen also has put in an enormous amount of time training both on and off the field.  Early morning gym/pitch sessions before work with her strength & conditioning coach Marian Earls, technical workshops after work with Dave O’ Brien, IRFU Referee Development Officer are just some of the methods of Helen weekly preparation in a bid to get herself to the WRWC.

Continue reading

Posted in News | Leave a comment

Leinster Rugby Referees Annual Golf Outing

The annual golf outing took place e in Dun Laoghaire Golf Club outside Bray in Wicklow. Over 40 referees hit the tee boxes for the afternoon onc they found the course after a number of road diversions. The course was in absolutely superb condition with the referees hacking through the lower and upper course. A torrential downpour set a few more prominent former referees back to the clubhouse early, but many braved the conditions and played on.

The winners on the day were as follows:

Winner Brindley Cup – David Bolger

Jim Dolan Memorial Plate – John Montayne

Muggs Cup – Patrick Mann

Visitors Prize – Pat Harrington

Longest Drive – David McHugh

Nearest Pin – Ray Ryan

The President Pat Carolan handed out the prizes and thanked Dun Laoghaire for hosting the outing as short notice. Many thanks also went to Simon ‘Nigel’ Owens for his excellent organising of the event along with the administration committee for their efforts.

Posted in News | Leave a comment

IRFU Concussion

I attach a link to the updated IRFU Concussion Guidelines Video below.  This has gone live on the IRFU website this week.



Posted in News | Leave a comment

Leinster Rugby Program – Article 1

Welcome back to a new season. Whilst most of us were resting over the summer and enjoying the long sunny days a few of our referees were still hard at work. Dudley Phillips was in action in Japan at the Prince Chichibu Memorial Stadium, Tokyo where he assisted John Lacey from Munster for the Japan v Samoa game in early June. His summer did not end there as he took a trip to Tbilisi for the IRB Tbilisi Cup, a competition between Georgia, Spain, Emerging Italy and the Emerging Jaguars. He was one of a team of three match officials at the tournament, the others being Luke Pearce (RFU) and Andrew McMenemy (SRU).

Pride of place of course goes to Helen O’Reilly. We mentioned back in April that Helen was selected as one of the Match Official for the 2014 Womens World Cup in France. Helen spent the summer refereeing and preparing for the World Cup. She refereed England v USA twice in a week in July and also refereed Irelands friendly with Wales in Ashbourne a few weeks later (highlights on our Facebook page). We were all glued to our screens at referee HQ every time Helen took to the pitch during the World Cup. To say she did amazingly would be an understatement. Helen is only in her second year as a referee so to even get to the World Cup was some achievement. Helen refereed the hosts opening game against Wales on day one and followed that with Canada against Samoa in round 2. She was then selected to referee the World Cup Semi Final between France and Canada – a result of her consistent performances in the pool stages. In front of a packed house in the Stade Jean Bouin in Paris, Helen excelled, in an extremely difficult game. Everyone involved in Leinster Rugby Referees are immensely proud of Helens achievements. It’s onwards and upwards from here for Helen.

France v Canada - Women's Rugby World Cup semi-final

A lot of our referees were busy with other activities over the summer, mainly touch rugby and tag rugby with a large number involved in the IRFU Tag Rugby competitions over the province including the All Ireland Finals in Old Belvedere RFC. Aoife McCarthy and Mark Scoyne also refereed at the European Touch Rugby Championships in Swansea in August.

Continue reading

Posted in News | Leave a comment

Across the Laighin

See what’s going on across Leinster in the first episode from Leinster Rugby TV.


Posted in News | Leave a comment

Age Grade Variations

Please keep a copy of the age grade variations in your kitbag.


Updated 17/09

Posted in News | Leave a comment

Upcoming Workshops


Workshop Topic: Positioning

Date: Monday 15th September 

Time: 7:30pm

Venue: St Marys RFC

Note: Part of this will be on pitch so prepare accordingly



Workshop Topic: Touch Judging

Date: Tuesday 30th September 

Time: 7:30pm

Venue: St Marys RFC



Posted in News | Leave a comment

Annual Golf Outing

Annual Golf Outing

Friday September 19th

Dun Laoghaire Golf Club (Please not change of venue)

Tee times from 14:00 – 15:30

BBQ Afterwards – Contact Denis Collins to sign up.

Posted in News | Leave a comment