Presidents Address – David MacDonald – 2016-17

                        I am honoured to be elected President of the Association of Referees Leinster Branch for 2016/17.  This honour is magnified by my appreciation of my own mediocre career on the pitch.   Hopefully I have made, and...

Where does your old kit go?

Where does your old kit go? Well here are a group of referees in Zagreb, Croatia sporting some of the kit we donated from our last kit changeover. We received a lovely message from them...

Newest referees from the Metro area

Newest referees who past their trail in the Metro Region Back, from the left: Gary Beresford Miller, Killian McCarthy, Lloyd Ellis Dempsey, Alan O'Doherty, Paul Meaney Front, from the left: Jonathan Hollywood, Wayne Sheridan (ARLB President), Fiona...

Reminder: Annual General Meeting

Please be advised that the Annual General Meeting of the ARLB will be held at Wanderers FC Merrion Road, [by kind permission] at 7:30 pm, on Thursday the 28th April, 2016....

2015/16 Award Winners

The following awards were handed out at the annual dinner on Saturday 16th April, in Wanderers FC. Ham Lambert Lifetime Achievement Award: Brendan Jenkinson Harold Ardil Referee of the Year: Brendan Conroy Terry Doyle Memorial Award for Club...

Leinster Match Program – Article 13

This article appeared in the Edinburgh Match Program

A warm welcome to today’s match official Marius Mitrea from the Italian Rugby Federation and his assistants Andy Brace, the experienced Leo Colgan and of course Dermot Moloney in the TMO box, from the Munster Association of Referees. We hope you receive a warm welcome and enjoy your Friday night in Dublin.

The annual dinner of the Leinster Rugby Referees is the highlight of our somewhat limited social calendar and is always a great event. It will take place in Wanderers FC tomorrow night Saturday April 16th  and will be hosted by Leinster Rugby Referees President Wayne Sheridan of Old Wesley FC. A large gathering of provincial presidents, referees, assessors guests and friends will attend the evening which was organised by the Referees Administration committee under Simon Owens.

Metro Area Meeting / AGM

On Tuesday 12th April at Bective Rangers club house, we will be holding our annual AGM.

The main topic of the AGM is the election of the Metro Area Rep for the next season (2016/17). Should anyone of you wish to put forward your name for nomination, please send it in to Tom D Keating by close of business on Monday 11th April.

Leinster Match Program – Article 12

This article appeared in the Munster match day program

Welcome to another high quality edition of referees corner and of course one of the great clashes in modern rugby – Leinster v Munster. Welcome to Ian Davies from the Welsh Rugby Union and our colleagues from the Ulster Society Mark Patton and David Wilkinson who are his assistants.  Our own Michael Carroll is assessing.

Schools Rugby

The dust has settled on the Bank of Ireland sponsored Leinster Schools Senior and Junior Cups. Well done to Belvedere College and Blackrock College on great wins. Of course these great finals could not have happened without some great refereeing. There was a team of seven involved in the Senior Cup Final in the RDS. Congratulations to Dermot Blake on a fine game and a well-deserved appointment.




Dermot was assisted by Paul Haycock and Brian Montayne, Simon Owens and Mark Power were the 4th and 5th officials , Kevin Beggs was in the TMO box and Tom Aplin was the match assessor. For the Junior Cup final there was a team of five in place. Gary Glennon was the referee for the game between St Michaels College and Blackrock College, with Chris Reynolds and Bernie White on the line. Susan Carty and Kevin Bolger were 4th and 5th officials.