Presidents Address – David MacDonald – 2016-17














I am honoured to be elected President of the Association of Referees Leinster Branch for 2016/17.  This honour is magnified by my appreciation of my own mediocre career on the pitch.   Hopefully I have made, and will continue to make, a more valuable contribution off the pitch.

There are many people to thank for helping me to get to this point, but I should go back to where it all started, with my friend and fellow club man at Seapoint, Denis Collins.  Denis got me started in the Association at the tender young age of 49, and 6 years later, after a couple of minor heart attacks, I confined my refereeing to under age games.  Shortly thereafter, Denis suggested that I become involved in the management of our Association, a role that I have enjoyed almost as much as active refereeing.  I have had the privilege of working closely with our last 6 Presidents, and have learned a lot from them.

I inherit the Presidency of a club which is in a very good place.   This has been achieved over several years, not only by the stewardship of strong Executive Committees, but also the excellent work done through the Standing Committees, covering Management, Rugby, Finance and Administration, as well as the unfailing commitment of the Area Representatives.

Our President 2015/16, Wayne Sheridan, has been rightly complimented on setting a high bar for future Presidents. Personally, I would have found it a bit less daunting if he had set it somewhat lower! One of his many contributions was to convene a “think tank” meeting earlier this year, with the objective of discussing how we could continue to improve as an Association, and as a club.  So, when we were asked by the Leinster Branch to produce a 5 year plan, we were well positioned to do so.  The plan can be downloaded from here, and I encourage all members to read it, and become involved in the debate of how the ARLB should develop and improve.

We have documented how we intend to deliver on our vision of supporting the global development of the game of rugby union.  We strive to do this by providing the best possible match officials at all levels whilst providing ambassadorial skills off the pitch. Given that we are already running successfully, the theme running through the plan is one of continuous improvement. As an outcome, we have identified 3 key projects for the first year, which we need to resource and deliver upon.

I look forward to working with you all in the year ahead, and if when I leave office in 12 months, your club is in a slightly better place, then I will have earned the trust that you have shown in me to date.

Thank you

David MacDonald


Where does your old kit go?

Where does your old kit go? Well here are a group of referees in Zagreb, Croatia sporting some of the kit we donated from our last kit changeover. We received a lovely message from them this morning, thanking us for our kind donation. They look great, don’t they?13063266_219802831744469_2662695388049745283_o

Newest referees from the Metro area

Newest referees who past their trail in the Metro Region

IMG_7759Back, from the left: Gary Beresford Miller, Killian McCarthy, Lloyd Ellis Dempsey, Alan O’Doherty, Paul Meaney Front, from the left: Jonathan Hollywood, Wayne Sheridan (ARLB President), Fiona Mallen, Ross Hanan

2015/16 Award Winners

The following awards were handed out at the annual dinner on Saturday 16th April, in Wanderers FC.

Ham Lambert Lifetime Achievement Award: Brendan Jenkinson

DSC_0083Harold Ardil Referee of the Year: Brendan Conroy


Terry Doyle Memorial Award for Club of the Year: Terenure College RFC


Alain Rolland Refereeing Performance of the Year: Not Yet Awarded

Special Recognition Award: David Bell for 50 years of service to the ARLB.


Well done to all winners.

Leinster Match Program – Article 13

This article appeared in the Edinburgh Match Program

A warm welcome to today’s match official Marius Mitrea from the Italian Rugby Federation and his assistants Andy Brace, the experienced Leo Colgan and of course Dermot Moloney in the TMO box, from the Munster Association of Referees. We hope you receive a warm welcome and enjoy your Friday night in Dublin.

The annual dinner of the Leinster Rugby Referees is the highlight of our somewhat limited social calendar and is always a great event. It will take place in Wanderers FC tomorrow night Saturday April 16th  and will be hosted by Leinster Rugby Referees President Wayne Sheridan of Old Wesley FC. A large gathering of provincial presidents, referees, assessors guests and friends will attend the evening which was organised by the Referees Administration committee under Simon Owens.

Continue reading Leinster Match Program – Article 13

Leinster Match Program – Article 12

This article appeared in the Munster match day program

Welcome to another high quality edition of referees corner and of course one of the great clashes in modern rugby – Leinster v Munster. Welcome to Ian Davies from the Welsh Rugby Union and our colleagues from the Ulster Society Mark Patton and David Wilkinson who are his assistants.  Our own Michael Carroll is assessing.

Schools Rugby

The dust has settled on the Bank of Ireland sponsored Leinster Schools Senior and Junior Cups. Well done to Belvedere College and Blackrock College on great wins. Of course these great finals could not have happened without some great refereeing. There was a team of seven involved in the Senior Cup Final in the RDS. Congratulations to Dermot Blake on a fine game and a well-deserved appointment.




Dermot was assisted by Paul Haycock and Brian Montayne, Simon Owens and Mark Power were the 4th and 5th officials , Kevin Beggs was in the TMO box and Tom Aplin was the match assessor. For the Junior Cup final there was a team of five in place. Gary Glennon was the referee for the game between St Michaels College and Blackrock College, with Chris Reynolds and Bernie White on the line. Susan Carty and Kevin Bolger were 4th and 5th officials.

Continue reading Leinster Match Program – Article 12